A list of things I hate: Part II

II.

Small talk that tapers off into nothing, buried by fear in a grave dug by anxiety

Ugly jealousy that swells from the pits of my most acrid thoughts, noxious and sly

Silences that don’t speak, that aren’t of familiarity, silences of I give up, I won’t try

Silences that catch in my throat and push words down like corks on 12 dollar red wine

The three pages I wrote for you that lay ignored, wilfully but not maliciously

The excuses I can make but the truths I can’t utter, bite bite bite your tongue

Plans on plans on plans that rise and totter like a mountain in which doubt laughs

A cough rattling like an animal in a cage, 6 weeks and the cage clangs in my lungs

Messages I write to you that stand untouched and virginal in a sea of things I never send

Pingback

2 thoughts on “A list of things I hate: Part II

Leave a Reply

