A list of things I hate: Part I

I.

The stubborn curve of my gentle belly in the mirror, jutting its chin out saying no-no-no

Spots scattered like angry pie crust across my cheeks and down my back, battle scars of puberty

Bushy eyebrows and careful grooming and pain at the hands of the heartless parlour lady

All the insecurities I stuff into my not-even-a-gap narrowest of narrow triangular thigh gaps

Brown skin and a tan like a patchwork quilt across my body from hours spent in the sun

The fact that “dusky” is sexy, a way of saying even though she’s dark she’s beautiful

Sari-clad relatives who doled out skin advice and tut-tut-tutted as they inspected me

Checking my phone like an emergency, only to see I got fewer likes than last time

I hate a body I can’t help but love, can’t help but admire in the reflection of the metro door

Pingback

Leave a Reply

